Disney’s On A Hot Streak!

I feel like I tell people somewhat often that I don’t play video games. I don’t know maybe it’s just that the topic of video games comes up and people are just too kind to leave me out of the conversation, so they ask me if I’m looking forward to a new one perhaps, and that’s when I say, “I don’t play video games.” What I don’t tell people though is that I used to play video games all the time. My favorites were always those of the Crash Bandicoot variety, and to this day they still remain in my heart as games that gave me triumph and games that made me yell furiously at an inanimate object. These are video games though, and one irrefutable truth is that I never really avidly played arcade games. I never filled my pockets with quarters as it were, though last night after seeing Wreck-It Ralph, I must say that I kinda wanted to find the nearest arcade and go blow some quarters.

First and foremost people, this is one movie that just goes to show you’re never too old for a Disney movie. I seriously had a blast last night. There were moments where I was just busting with laughter, whether it was because of how over the top some of the characters were, or just from the freedom that only animation can offer, such as someone being repeatedly punched for the good of mankind. But I think one aspect that made this movie as funny as it was, was its script.

Writers Phil Johnston and Jennifer Lee conveyed that same tenderness and peace that so many Disney films of the past have managed to emulate, but also gave Wreck-It Ralph a significant amount of humor that more than likely only an adult could understand, but did it in a way that a kiddo could laugh. Well done folks. The scene I’m referring to is the movie’s opening which takes place at a villains support group which Ralph has finally decided to attend. The bad guys of the arcade, which all these villains belong to, wear their titles as proudly as they can, though all seem to erupt in protest when Ralph claims, “I don’t want to be the bad guy anymore.” Within the meeting and long afterward Ralph receives the same message that he can’t change who he is, but more importantly if he does there could be consequences…

Before I go further one thing that gave this movie what one of my friends referred to as its “awesomeness” was the appearance of so many old arcade games and just gaming characters from Paperboy to Pacman. I mean people can watch this and be in tears at the appearance of all these beloved characters from their childhood, and even though my days of playing video games and such are long over, even I have to admit it was cool to see all these characters, few of which I knew, but nevertheless. Anyway, Ralph decides he has to prove himself by doing something extreme: leaving his game!

One of the things in this movie like many great original ideas, there needs to be a world that’s created within the already existing one, and in watching Wreck-It Ralph, I was reminded of Toy Story, where when Andy’s gone all the toys come to life, and in this case when the arcade closes, all gaming characters turn in for the day like working class citizens, taking the train home some of them, and waiting for the next working day. The thing is though this world is a lot more complex than it looks. It’s a world where like a yard sale is horrific in Toy Story, and Out of order sign is terrifying in Wreck-It Ralph. Such a sign could mean the characters become homeless, replacements come in, and panic ensues. But that’s the least of the arcade’s worries when Ralph ends up in the arcade’s new game Hero’s Duty. Ralph ends up forcibly earning the gold medal which will fix his life, much like Fix-It Felix, Jr. But he ends up, after a result of video games becoming violent and scary, in a happy game called Sugar Rush, which is about as treacherous as Sunnyside Day Care.

Once Ralph ends up here, this is really where Disney comes in and reminds us that no matter how much we say they’re for kids, they have something good for everyone. Ralph meets a spunky, annoying, and just down right adorable hopeful racer in Sugar Rush named Vanellope. The two of them are absolute opposites, which couldn’t be more perfect.

I mean this movie is really about friendship, identity, and even love, all of which surface from Venellope and Ralph, who even though are opposite find they’re actually very similar. From the two of them we can see just how important it is to have even just one friend in your life, because when you have just one that means your life changes, which is something the two of them desperately need. That being said, an underlying theme in this movie is stepping outside your comfort zone, because at times it’s only when you do so that you actually unveil whatever it is in your life you may be hoping or searching for. Honestly how many people have ever thought I’m sick of people telling me what I can and can’t do? Granted at times one must adhere to another’s advice, but many a time also it’s prudent that we make a choice for ourselves, because that may be ultimately when the greatest lessons unfold. This proves true for Ralph and Vanellope, but more than that what unfolds from the two of them is this movie’s greatest strength: the classic battle between good and evil.

“It’s make your mamas proud time!” -Sergeant Calhoun

An unlikely band of heroes, Ralph, Vanellope, the intense and totally awesome Sergeant Calhoun (Jane lynch) and Felix, from Fix-It Felix, Jr., must take down King Candy, the ruthless king of Sugar Rush who is also a dastardly villain in disguise from the arcade’s past known as Turbo. I have to say the way he is defeated is brilliant, and as such I won’t spoil it for those of you who haven’t seen it yet. When you do though, I believe if not guarantee it will make most of you crack up.

This movie was just plain good, folks. It was original, very entertaining, hilarious, and was even sad at times, but ultimately I left the theater wanting to see it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment